Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Basketball · NBA
2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set
- Base set
- 250 cards · checklist
- Parallels
- not documented
- Released
- August 11, 2023
licensed (NBA)
Box-set reissue: the base checklist is identical, card for card, to 2022-23 Optic — the same 250 cards printed on premium stock and sold as a complete set.
Base set parallels · not documented
No base-set parallel has a row in the catalogue yet. That is not a claim that none exist — this release's open questions record what is known about its parallels and why it is not yet expressible as a row.
Autograph sets · 1
Open questions · 14show
- G-001 SHARED BASE CHECKLIST / BASE-CARD IDENTITY COLLISION between TWO releases, per EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.2. This release (opticpremium-bkb-2022-23) and data/optic-bkb-2022-23 describe THE SAME 250 physical base card slots. THE OVERLAP NUMBER IS 250 OF 250. Measured, not estimated: the 250 rows were read individually - enumerated by card number, never as a bulk page dump - off checklistcenter's dedicated Premium Box Set checklist page (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/), re-read on 78 of those rows off tcdb sid 365691 (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=1, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=2, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=3) with zero disagreements, and then diffed positionally against data/optic-bkb-2022-23/base_cards.csv: 250 of 250 card numbers, 250 of 250 player names and 250 of 250 team names match, zero differences on any field. The rookie split is the same 200 no / 50 yes in both files. The Premium Box Set is therefore the FULL parent base run on premium stock, not a subset or a re-selection, and the 251 in "251-card factory set" is 250 base + 1 autograph, not 251 base slots. Stated in words by cardboardconnection: "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Basketball highlights the full base set, with all 50 Rated Rookie cards, from 2022-23 Donruss Optic Basketball." (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards). tcdb catalogues it as a PARALLEL of the Optic base rather than as a set of its own (subset sid 365691 under the 2022-23 Donruss Optic parent sid 354999, https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium), and checklistcenter lists it on the parent Optic page under "Box Set Parallels" as the single line "Premium Box Set #/249" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). THIS IS THE FOURTH CONSECUTIVE SEASON OF THIS LINE TO MEASURE A COMPLETE OVERLAP: opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-001 200/200, opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-001 200/200, opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-001 200/200, and now 250/250. The number changed only because the parent Optic base run grew from 200 cards to 250 in 2022-23; the RELATION is unchanged. Built here as instructed and NOT deduplicated and NOT double-counted; the duplication is deliberate and must be resolved at catalogue level, not by deleting either file. ONE FIELD DOES DIFFER BETWEEN THE TWO RELEASE ROWS AND IT IS NOT AN ERROR: data/optic-bkb-2022-23 carries base_print_run=unnumbered / basis assumed, this release carries 249 / sourced, because the parent's base cards are not serial numbered and this printing's are (tcdb flags every row of sid 365691 "SN249"; card 1 of parent sid 354999 carries no flag token at all, https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/354999/2022-23-Donruss-Optic).
- G-002 THE SAME-NUMERAL TWO-UNIT TRAP (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4) WAS TESTED FOR THIS SEASON AND, UNLIKE THE THREE PRIOR SEASONS, NO SET-COUNT STATEMENT WAS FOUND. (a) PER-CARD SERIAL RUN = 249, which is what base_print_run records, and every 2022-23 statement found is unambiguously per-card: cardboardconnection "These come in an exclusive parallel that is numbered to 249 copies and printed on premium card stock." (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards) - "copies" is the unit word; checklistcenter "250 Cards - Serial Numbered #/249 - Full Set Per Box" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/) and "Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/); tcdb Notes "Box set; Serial numbered to 249" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium) plus the literal per-row flag "SN249" on all 78 base rows read (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=1, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=2, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=3). (b) NUMBER OF SETS OR BOXES PRODUCED: NOT STATED BY ANY 2022-23 SOURCE FETCHED IN THIS PASS. cardboardconnection's product page does not give one, checklistcenter does not, and Panini's own 2022-23 product page could not be fetched (see G-011). No set/box count is written in any column - there is no column for one - and none was inferred from the per-card figure. THE COINCIDENCE IS REAL FOR THIS LINE EVEN THOUGH IT IS NOT EVIDENCED FOR THIS SEASON: Panini's own blog for the 2018-19 edition of this same product writes both units in one post - "limited to just 249 sets" alongside "Each card in the set features premium holographic stock and is sequentially numbered out of 249." (https://blog.paniniamerica.net/limited-donruss-optic-basketball-premium-set-available-only-on-icollectpanini-com/, dated February 08, 2019). That post is about 2018-19, NOT 2022-23, and NOTHING from it was used for any value in this release; it is recorded only so a later reader knows the two-unit hazard is a property of the line and must be re-tested each season rather than assumed present or absent. Compare opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-002 (Panini put both units in one sentence), opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-002 (box count stated by cardboardconnection and cardlines), opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-002 (set count UNKNOWN).
- G-003 release_date 2023-08-11 and how independent its sources are - WEAKER THAN 2021-22 AND SAID SO. (a) cardboardconnection prints "Release Date: August 11, 2023" (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards), labelled Release Date and not Estimated Release Date. (b) checklistcenter prints "Release Date: August 11, 2023" in its product-information block (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). Those two are known to copy one another (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4) and may be ONE opinion. (c) NO manufacturer source corroborates the date this season: no Panini blog post for the 2022-23 Premium Box Set was found, and the Panini store page timed out on both attempts (G-011). This is a real regression against opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-003, where Panini's own blog gave a genuinely independent third source. ONE NEAR-MISS RECORDED SO IT IS NOT LATER MISTAKEN FOR A CONTRADICTION: a first, loosely-shaped fetch of the checklistcenter page returned "August 8, 2023" as "the date printed on the page"; a second, narrowly-shaped fetch asking what LABEL preceded each date returned "Release Date: August 11, 2023". The 8 August value is not a release date and was not written. tcdb carries no release date for subset sid 365691 and Beckett was not fetched. The date is also the day the Dutch auction OPENED, which is not necessarily the day every box shipped.
- G-004 parallels.csv is deliberately EMPTY (header only, zero data rows), per EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.3. No parallel OF THE PREMIUM BOX SET BASE RUN was found on any source, and the absence is evidenced rather than unresolved. (a) ON TCDB THE ABSENCE RESTS ON A TWELVE-SID CONTIGUOUS SWEEP, WHICH IS THE STRONGEST ENUMERATION THIS LINE HAS HAD SINCE 2020-21. The product's base run is a single subset, sid 365691 "2022-23 Donruss Optic - Premium" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium). Every sid in the window 365689-365700 was individually probed with ViewSet.cfm and named: 365689 "2022-23 Donruss Optic - Pink Velocity", 365690 DOES NOT EXIST (ViewSet.cfm renders the tcdb home page, confirmed twice under two different slugs), 365691 "Premium", 365692 "Purple", 365693 "Purple Shock", 365694 "Purple Stars", 365695 "Red", 365696 "Red & Gold Wave", 365697 "Red Sparkle", 365698 "Red Wave", 365699 "Two Tone", 365700 "White Sparkle". The window is alphabetical and unbroken, so a "Premium <colour>" child would have to sit at 365692 and 365692 is "Purple". Four further Optic base-parallel sids were probed to establish the alphabetical run itself: 365624 "Basketball", 365641 "Checkerboard", 365657 "Choice Dragon", 365665 "Fast Break Holo", 365682 "Holo". (b) checklistcenter renders the COMPLETE base-set parallel inventory for 2022-23 Donruss Optic in one list (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/) - 31 main parallels, 6 Choice, 7 Fast Break - and gives the box set ONE line, "Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249". The Premium tier has no colour children on that list. (c) cardboardconnection's product page names no parallel of the Premium set; its only parallel language is about the Premium printing itself, "These come in an exclusive parallel that is numbered to 249 copies and printed on premium card stock." (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards). (d) checklistcenter's dedicated Premium Box Set page carries exactly two blocks, the 250-card base and the 25-card autograph, and no parallel block (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). All three prior seasons of this line reached the same result (opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-004, opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-004, opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-004). CAVEAT ON THE STANDARD OF EVIDENCE, stated so it is not overclaimed: tcdb's own full set inventory at https://www.tcdb.com/Inserts.cfm/sid/354999/2022-23-Donruss-Optic STILL could not be read end to end - the fetch layer truncates it inside the Insert Sets section (last content delivered was a half-written image URL for sid 365967 "Winner Stays") and never reaches the Parallel Sets heading, exactly as recorded for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 Optic parents. So (a) rests on an enumerated sid window, not on one rendered list. The window here is twelve contiguous sids with both boundaries named, which is stronger than 2021-22's eight-sid window and comparable to 2020-21's sixteen-sid sweep; it is still a window.
- G-005 The autograph set's card numbers duplicate base card numbers WITHIN this release. Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set renders 25 rows at numbers 203, 204, 205, 206, 208, 209, 210, 214, 216, 220, 221, 222, 224, 225, 227, 232, 235, 236, 238, 240, 241, 245, 248, 249 and 250 (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365894/2022-23-Donruss-Optic---Rated-Rookies-Signatures-Premium-Box-Set, header "Total Cards: 25", every row flagged "AU, SN10"; the identical 25 numbers are rendered independently by checklistcenter at https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). Every one of those 25 numbers is also a base card number 1-250 in this release's base_cards.csv. Any card-number-keyed join across this release's sets will collide unless it is also keyed by set. Same shape as opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-007, opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-005 and opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-005. Flagged now because the card-level autograph checklist belongs to a later pass (CHASE_CHECKLIST_SPEC).
- G-006 Structural divergence between our release-level model and every source, unchanged from all three prior seasons and re-tested this season. tcdb has NO parent sid for this product: https://www.tcdb.com/ViewAll.cfm/sp/Basketball/year/2022 lists exactly three basketball products whose names contain "Optic" for the 2022 year - "2022-23 Donruss Optic" (sid 354999), "2022-23 Panini Contenders Optic" (sid 373717) and "2022-23 Leaf Optichrome" (sid 345534) - and no Premium Box Set product. The product exists on tcdb only as two subsets of the 2022-23 Donruss Optic parent sid 354999: base sid 365691 (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium) and autograph sid 365894 (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365894/2022-23-Donruss-Optic---Rated-Rookies-Signatures-Premium-Box-Set). checklistcenter files the base run as one line inside the parent Optic checklist page (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/) even though it ALSO publishes a dedicated Premium Box Set page (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). cardboardconnection gives it a page of its own (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards). Everything structural in this release therefore comes from a source that considers it part of another product; no independent product-level STRUCTURAL source exists.
- G-008 ROOKIE_FLAG AND THE LITERAL FLAG TOKENS THIS SEASON'S PAGES PRINT - AND THIS SEASON THE TWO TCDB PAGES COVERING THE SAME PHYSICAL CARDS PRINT DIFFERENT TOKENS. RECORDED AS LITERAL STRINGS, NOT GLOSSED. WHAT THIS RELEASE'S OWN PAGE PRINTS: on tcdb sid 365691, the Premium Box Set base run, every row of the 201-250 block carries the literal flag string "RR, SN249" and every base row sampled in 1-200 carries "SN249" alone (201-230 read at https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=3; 231-250 read at https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=3&sort=0; cards 1-5, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70 at https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=1; cards 101-175 in fives at https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium?PageIndex=2). Asked directly, as a yes/no question, whether the two literal characters R then C appear as a token anywhere on the page carrying cards 201-250 of sid 365691, the answer was NO. So on THIS set the string "RC" appears on NO row. WHAT THE PARENT'S PAGE PRINTS FOR THE IDENTICAL CARD SLOTS: on tcdb sid 354999, the main 2022-23 Donruss Optic base run, cards 201, 202, 203, 221, 249 and 250 each carry the literal flag string "RR, RC" (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/354999/2022-23-Donruss-Optic?PageIndex=3), confirmed by a second, narrowly-shaped verbatim re-fetch under a distinct URL which returned "RR, RC" for cards 221 and 201 inside quotation marks and answered YES to whether the characters R and C appear; card 1 and card 150 carry no token at all. THIS IS NEW AND IT MATTERS: the SAME physical checklist is flagged "RR, RC" under the parent sid and "RR, SN249" under the box-set sid. tcdb appends the serial flag on the numbered printing and drops "RC" there; the two renderings are not in conflict about the players, only about which flags the renderer emits. WHAT THE OTHER CARD-LEVEL SOURCE PRINTS: checklistcenter's dedicated page renders a sub-heading "Rated Rookie" immediately before card 201 and prints no per-row token at all (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). cardboardconnection prints no per-row token either, only "with all 50 Rated Rookie cards" (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards). WHAT WAS WRITTEN AND WHY: rookie_flag=yes for 201-250 and no for 1-200. This also matches what data/optic-bkb-2022-23/base_cards.csv carries for the identical checklist (200 no, 50 yes). MY POSITION ON THE QUESTION THE LINE HAS RAISED TWICE, STATED PLAINLY AS ASKED: I think "RR" SHOULD count. Three reasons. (i) On this line "RR" is not a different claim from "RC" - for 2022-23 the very same rows that tcdb flags "RR, SN249" under sid 365691 it flags "RR, RC" under sid 354999, so the two tokens are demonstrably co-referential on this checklist and treating "RR" as insufficient would make the answer depend on which sid a cataloguer happened to open. (ii) Two further sources designate the same block in words - checklistcenter's "Rated Rookie" sub-heading and cardboardconnection's "all 50 Rated Rookie cards" - so the designation is explicit, not inferred from position. (iii) EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.4 says "where the source explicitly shows an RC designation"; on the strictest possible reading of the literal two characters, this season SATISFIES it anyway via the parent page, which is the first season of this line where that is true. CONSEQUENCE IF THE STRICT READING IS ADOPTED ANYWAY: opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-008 lists five releases needing correction on the strict reading (itself, optic-bkb-2021-22, opticpremium-bkb-2020-21, opticpremium-bkb-2019-20, optic-bkb-2019-20). This release would NOT join them, because "RC" is printed for its card slots on tcdb sid 354999. Whoever settles this should settle it for the line, not per release. FABRICATION CONTROL: "RR" is recorded here as a LITERAL TOKEN and deliberately not glossed. opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-015(c) records the fetch layer inventing two contradictory expansions of "RR" ("Rookie Recollection", "Rookie Reviver") on that season's set. Every flag question in this pass was asked as "copy the literal characters, do not expand, gloss or explain any abbreviation", and NO expansion was returned by any fetch in this pass. Nothing was written about what "RR" stands for.
- G-009 base_set_size is written as 250 while the most quotable headline figure on both aggregator pages is 251: cardboardconnection "Product Configuration: 251-card factory set" (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards) and checklistcenter "Configuration: 251 Cards Per Box" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). 250 was written because both of those sources decompose their own 251 into 250 + 1 - cardboardconnection into the bullets "Full base set (250 cards)" and "1 Rated Rookie Autograph", checklistcenter into "Box Break: Full Base Set; 1 Rated Rookie Auto" over a "250 Cards - Serial Numbered #/249 - Full Set Per Box" base block and a "25 Cards - Serial Numbered #/10 - 1 Per Box" autograph block - because tcdb's subset header reads "Total Cards: 250" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium), and because EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.3 requires the autograph block to be excluded. Flagged because any later source quoting "251 cards" will look like a coverage hole against this file and is not one. Same call as all three prior seasons (opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-011, opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-009, opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-009), where the same arithmetic ran 201 = 200 + 1. NOTE THE SEASON-OVER-SEASON CHANGE, so it is not mistaken for an error: the base run grew from 200 cards (2019-20 through 2021-22) to 250 in 2022-23, tracking the parent Optic base run, which data/optic-bkb-2022-23/release.csv also carries as 250.
- G-010 NAME DRIFT - WHAT THIS SEASON'S SOURCES ACTUALLY PRINT, recorded rather than decided (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.1). product_name was written as "Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Basketball" to match reference/brands.csv byte for byte. THE 2022-23 SOURCES, AS FETCHED: (a) cardboardconnection page title "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Basketball Cards Checklist" and in body "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Basketball gives NBA fans another high-end Optichrome edition." (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards). (b) checklistcenter H1 "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set - Basketball Card Checklist", but its own section headings inside that page drop "Box Set" from the product and keep it on the subset: "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium - Product Breakdown", "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium - Base Premium Box Set", "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium - Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/); on the parent Optic page it is the line "Premium Box Set #/249" under the heading "Box Set Parallels" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). (c) tcdb names the base set "2022-23 Donruss Optic - Premium", page title "2022-23 Donruss Optic - Premium Basketball Checklist | Trading Card Database", canonical link https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium - DROPPING "Box Set" entirely, for the SECOND SEASON RUNNING (opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-010 recorded the same drop for 2021-22, against "<season> Donruss Optic - Premium Box Set" for 2017-18 through 2020-21). tcdb does keep "Premium Box Set" in the AUTOGRAPH set's name, "Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set" (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365894/2022-23-Donruss-Optic---Rated-Rookies-Signatures-Premium-Box-Set) - so tcdb uses both forms on the same product in the same season. NOT FETCHED, RECORDED AS SEARCH-RESULT PAGE TITLES ONLY AND USED FOR NO VALUE: the manufacturer's own store page is indexed as "2022-23 Panini Donruss Optic NBA Premium Box Set" at https://www.paniniamerica.net/2022-23-panini-donruss-optic-nba-premium-box-set.html (the page itself timed out on both fetch attempts, see G-011) - a fourth word order, with "Panini" and "NBA" inserted; COMC catalogues the cards as "2022-23 Panini Donruss Optic - [Base] - Premium Box Set Prizm" (https://www.comc.com/Cards/Basketball/2022-23/Panini_Donruss_Optic_-_Base_-_Premium_Box_Set_Prizm/84/Andrew_Wiggins/23014902, which returned HTTP 403) - a FIFTH variant that adds "Prizm" and files the tier as a [Base] parallel; and checklistinsider titles the NEXT two seasons "2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set" and "2024-25 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set, https://www.checklistinsider.com/2024-25-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set), which is the form the 2023-24 scope memo expects. NO 2022-23 source fetched in this pass uses "Factory Set" in the product's NAME. So for 2022-23 the concurrent variants are at least: "Premium Box Set" (cardboardconnection, checklistcenter, and tcdb's autograph subset), bare "Premium" (tcdb's base subset), and - on unfetched indexed titles - "NBA Premium Box Set" (Panini) and "Premium Box Set Prizm" (COMC). Raised, not decided.
- G-011 SOURCES THAT COULD NOT BE FETCHED IN THIS PASS, recorded so their absence is visible rather than silently reducing the evidence base. (a) THE MANUFACTURER. https://www.paniniamerica.net/2022-23-panini-donruss-optic-nba-premium-box-set.html returned "Read timeout while fetching the URL" on BOTH attempts. No Panini blog post for the 2022-23 Premium Box Set was found by search; the only Optic Premium blog posts surfaced were for 2021-22 (used by opticpremium-bkb-2021-22) and for 2018-19. CONSEQUENCE: unlike 2021-22, NOTHING in this release rests on a manufacturer statement. base_print_run, base_set_size and release_date all rest on cardboardconnection and checklistcenter, which copy one another, plus tcdb for the structural figures. (b) COMC. https://www.comc.com/Cards/Basketball/2022-23/Panini_Donruss_Optic_-_Base_-_Premium_Box_Set_Prizm/84/Andrew_Wiggins/23014902 returned HTTP 403. Its indexed title (card #84 Andrew Wiggins /249) agrees with this release's base_cards.csv row 84 and with the /249 run, but an indexed title is not a fetched page and it was used for no value. (c) Beckett was not fetched (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4 records it 302ing to a maintenance page), so the usual third structural source is absent.
- G-012 CONTRADICTION AGAINST EXISTING DATA, now running across four seasons of the sibling Optic line. data/optic-bkb-2019-20/parallels.csv carries a row for the Premium Box Set as a base parallel of the parent product (par_01M19N6THK40T9E6FQ52MB2D5R, "Premium Box Set Base", print_run 249). data/optic-bkb-2020-21/parallels.csv carries no equivalent row (recorded as opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-012); data/optic-bkb-2021-22/parallels.csv carries none (opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-012); and data/optic-bkb-2022-23/parallels.csv carries NONE either - verified this pass by reading all 179 of its rows: its 44 base-set-scope parallel names are Basketball, Black, Black Velocity, Blue, Blue Sparkle, Checkerboard, Choice Black Gold, Choice Blue Mojo, Choice Dragon, Choice Nebula, Choice Red, Choice Red & Green, Copper Glitter, Fast Break Black, Fast Break Blue, Fast Break Gold, Fast Break Holo, Fast Break Pink, Fast Break Purple, Fast Break Red, Gold, Gold Sparkle, Gold Vinyl, Gold Wave, Green, Green Shock, Green Sparkle, Holo, Hyper Green, Hyper Pink, Lime Green, Lucky Envelopes, Orange, Photon, Pink Velocity, Purple, Purple Shock, Purple Stars FOTL, Red, Red & Gold Wave, Red Sparkle, Red Wave, Two Tone and White Sparkle - and none is Premium. Its release row states the exclusion in words: "Separate companion product 2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set (Premium Box Set #/249 parallel) excluded from this release." Meanwhile BOTH tcdb and checklistcenter catalogue the object as a base parallel of the parent in all four seasons - tcdb as subset sid 365691 under parent sid 354999 (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/365691/2022-23-Donruss-Optic-Premium), checklistcenter as "Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). So the identical real-world object is a parallel row in 2019-20 and a deliberate, stated omission in 2020-21, 2021-22 and 2022-23. Nothing outside this release directory was touched. Recorded for a repair pass to settle one convention; whichever way it goes it interacts with G-001, since the object is simultaneously this release's whole base set.
- G-013 license_status was NOT specified in the task prompt, which EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.1 says is where it comes from. "licensed (NBA/NBPA)" was written to match all three prior seasons of this line (data/opticpremium-bkb-2019-20, data/opticpremium-bkb-2020-21, data/opticpremium-bkb-2021-22). That DISAGREES with the same-season sibling data/optic-bkb-2022-23, which carries "licensed (NBA)" for what is physically the same base checklist - the identical disagreement recorded at opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-013 and opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-013, now confirmed to repeat for a third season. Both are live values per the spec; no source was fetched that states either wording, so this is a catalogue-convention choice, not an evidenced one, and it is flagged rather than silently picked. licensed=yes and league=NBA were given in the task prompt and are unaffected.
- G-014 Single-source, possibly-dependent and unresolved items, listed so they are not mistaken for settled values. (a) CARD-LEVEL SOURCING. The 250-row roster was read off checklistcenter's dedicated Premium Box Set page (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/) and cross-checked against tcdb sid 365691 on 78 rows (cards 1-5, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70; 101, 105, 110, 115, 120, 125, 130, 135, 140, 145, 150, 155, 160, 165, 170, 175; and all fifty of 201-250), agreeing on every one. THE OTHER 172 ROWS REST ON CHECKLISTCENTER ALONE as a source for THIS PRODUCT - although all 250 also match data/optic-bkb-2022-23/base_cards.csv, which is this project's own separately-built parent release, not an independent third-party source. (b) The autograph set's 25 card numbers are corroborated by two sources that agree exactly: tcdb sid 365894 (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/365894/2022-23-Donruss-Optic---Rated-Rookies-Signatures-Premium-Box-Set) and checklistcenter (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/). This is better than 2021-22, where they rested on tcdb alone. (c) scarcity_tier for the autograph set is UNKNOWN - no source states a tier - and its stated_odds "1 per box set" rests on cardboardconnection's "25 cards. 1 per box set. Serial numbered #/10.", corroborated by checklistcenter's "25 Cards - Serial Numbered #/10 - 1 Per Box". (d) The autograph set's NAME differs between sources: tcdb "Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set" (written here), cardboardconnection "Scope Rated Rookie Signatures Premium Box Set" (both words singular, prefixed "Scope"), checklistcenter "2022-23 Donruss Optic Premium - Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set". Whether "Premium Box Set" is printed on the card or is a cataloguer's qualifier was not established. (e) The base cards' FINISH was not resolved and is written nowhere. cardboardconnection calls the printing "an exclusive parallel that is numbered to 249 copies and printed on premium card stock" and elsewhere uses "Scope" and "Optichrome"; no finish name was written. (f) cardboardconnection and checklistcenter are known to copy each other (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4), Panini's own page could not be fetched and Beckett was not fetched, so WHERE BOTH ARE CITED THEY MAY BE ONE OPINION. The genuinely independent corroboration on this release is tcdb - its "Total Cards: 250" header, its Notes line "Box set; Serial numbered to 249" and its literal per-row "SN249" flags. base_print_run_basis=sourced therefore rests on a possibly-single aggregator opinion for the WORDS and on tcdb for the flag; this is weaker than 2021-22, where Panini stated the per-card run itself. (g) No marketplace listing was used as evidence for any value - see G-015(d) for why the one candidate listing was discarded.
- G-015 METHOD AND SPEC NOTES recorded for reproducibility; four of them are live hazards and one contradicts a working assumption about tcdb sid layout. (a) TCDB'S Inserts.cfm IS TRUNCATED ON THIS PARENT FOR THE THIRD SEASON RUNNING. https://www.tcdb.com/Inserts.cfm/sid/354999/2022-23-Donruss-Optic delivers the whole "Insert Sets (169)" list - first entry "All-Stars" sid 365599, last delivered "Winner Stays Lime Green" sid 365967 - and then stops mid-entry, never reaching the "Parallel Sets" heading that follows it. Adding ?x=1, ?sort=2 and ?PageIndex=2 changed nothing; Inserts.cfm does not paginate. So the spec's "Inserts.cfm is your sets.csv backbone" does not hold for BASE PARALLELS on a parent this size, for the third season running. sid discovery was done by probing ViewSet.cfm across a sid range instead, exactly as the task prompt anticipated. (b) A TCDB SID RANGE IS NOT CONTIGUOUS PER PRODUCT, AND THIS SEASON IT IS INTERLEAVED WITH THREE UNRELATED PRODUCTS INSIDE WHAT LOOKS LIKE ONE BLOCK. Probing upward from the 2022-23 Optic subset block found sid 365723 "2022 Topps MetaZoo Wilderness", sid 365745 "2021 Topps Chrome - Red" (tennis) and sid 365770 "2023 Magic: The Gathering March of the Machine: The Aftermath - Foil", each a confident well-formed page from an unrelated product - the exact 2021-22 finding (sid 328674 rendering a 2008 Press Pass Elvis set) reproduced with three different intruders. The boundary was therefore PROVED by naming both neighbours of every sid used, not assumed. (c) A SID INSIDE A LIVE ALPHABETICAL RUN CAN SIMPLY NOT EXIST. ViewSet.cfm/sid/365690 renders the tcdb HOME PAGE ("Trading Card Database", "Total Cards: 35,294,564") rather than a set page or an error, confirmed under two different slugs. It sits between 365689 "Pink Velocity" and 365691 "Premium" in an otherwise unbroken alphabetical run. A home-page render is how ViewSet.cfm signals a non-existent sid, and it is easy to misread as a fetch failure. (d) MARKETPLACE CONTAMINATION, SHAPE 3, CAUGHT LIVE. A search result showed eBay item 116777126476 with the seller title "2022 PANINI DONRUSS OPTIC PREM BOX SET #221 PAOLO BANCHERO 198/249 PSA 10". Fetching https://www.ebay.com/itm/116777126476 returned a DIFFERENT title, "2022-23 Panini Donruss Optic - Rated Rookie Paolo Banchero #221 Prizm /249 (RC)" - the eBay-catalogue form, with the words "PREM BOX SET" and the individual serial "198/249" gone and an "(RC)" added. That is EXTRACTION_SPEC 3.4's third contamination shape ("an /itm/ page silently retitled to eBay-catalogue form"). The listing was DISCARDED and supports no value in this release, including the "(RC)" token, which is eBay catalogue text and not a source of record. (e) TCDB'S SEARCH ENDPOINT IS NOT A SET-FINDING TOOL. https://www.tcdb.com/Search.cfm?Criteria=2022-23+Donruss+Optic+Premium+Box+Set returned no matching set - the only "Premium" string on the delivered page was a "Random Card of the Day" panel for an unrelated 2024 Panini Prizm set. Web search against site:tcdb.com also never surfaced sid 365691. The sid was found only by alphabetical extrapolation from four probed base-parallel sids and then confirmed by direct probe. (f) THE Checklist.cfm TRUNCATION BUDGET IS CONFIRMED AGAIN. A bounded ask for cards 150, 199 and 200 on https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/354999/2022-23-Donruss-Optic?PageIndex=2 returned card 150 and reported that the delivered content did not include 199 or 200 - the documented ~row-74-86 truncation of a 100-row page. Every successful ask in this pass ENUMERATED THE CARD NUMBERS WANTED (20-40 of them) rather than asking for a row range or a whole page; no such ask was refused, and no whole-page ask was made. Real measured cost for this 250-card run: 8 bounded asks against checklistcenter's dedicated page for the full roster, plus 4 bounded tcdb Checklist asks for the cross-check and the flag tokens.
If you know a source that answers one of these, tell us — name the question's label and where to look.
Draft — sourced but not independently verified. How this catalogue is built