Hoops Card DB

2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set

Base set 
250 cards · checklist
Parallels 
3 · 0 on the base set
Released 
not documented

licensed (NBA)

Box-set reissue: the base checklist is identical, card for card, to 2023-24 Optic — the same 250 cards printed on premium stock and sold as a complete set.

No base-set parallel has a row in the catalogue yet. That is not a claim that none exist — this release's open questions record what is known about its parallels and why it is not yet expressible as a row.

  • G-001 SHARED BASE CHECKLIST / BASE-CARD IDENTITY COLLISION between TWO releases, per EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.2. This release (opticpremium-bkb-2023-24) and data/optic-bkb-2023-24 describe THE SAME 250 physical base card slots. THE OVERLAP NUMBER IS 250 OF 250. Measured, not estimated: all 250 rows were read individually off tcdb subset sid 438843 - enumerated by card number in bounded asks, never as a bulk page dump or a row range - across nine fetches (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=1 for cards 1-45 and, under a distinct URL, 46-75; https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=8, https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=9, https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=10 for cards 71-100; https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=2 for 101-140 and, under a distinct URL, 141-175; https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=18, https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=19, https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=20 for 171-200; https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3 for 201-225 and https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3&sort=0 for 226-250) and then diffed positionally against data/optic-bkb-2023-24/base_cards.csv: 250 of 250 card numbers, 250 of 250 player names and 250 of 250 team names match, zero differences on any field. The rookie split is the same 200 no / 50 yes in both files. The Premium Box Set is therefore the FULL parent base run on premium stock, not a subset or a re-selection, and the 251 in "251-card factory set" is 250 base + 1 autograph, not 251 base slots. Stated in words by checklistinsider: "The 2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set checklist uses 2023-24 Donruss Optic NBA to highlight all 200 veterans and 50 Rated Rookie subjects from the base set, including Victor Wembanyama." (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set). tcdb catalogues it as a subset of the Optic base rather than as a set of its own (subset sid 438843 under the 2023-24 Donruss Optic parent sid 415872, https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set), and both aggregators list it on the parent Optic page as a single base-parallel line: checklistcenter "Premium Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/) and checklistinsider "Premium Box Set - /249" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball). THIS IS THE FIFTH CONSECUTIVE SEASON OF THIS LINE TO MEASURE A COMPLETE OVERLAP: opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-001 200/200, opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-001 200/200, opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-001 200/200, opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 G-001 250/250, and now 250/250 again. Built here as instructed and NOT deduplicated and NOT double-counted; the duplication is deliberate and must be resolved at catalogue level, not by deleting either file. ONE FIELD DOES DIFFER BETWEEN THE TWO RELEASE ROWS AND IT IS NOT AN ERROR: data/optic-bkb-2023-24 carries base_print_run=unnumbered / basis assumed, this release carries 249 / sourced, because the parent's base cards are not serial numbered and this printing's are (tcdb flags every row of sid 438843 "SN249"; the parent's own rows at sid 415872 carry "RR, RC" and no SN token, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/415872/2023-24-Donruss-Optic?PageIndex=3). A SECOND, SMALLER OVERLAP EXISTS ON THE AUTOGRAPH SET - see G-005.
  • G-002 THE SAME-NUMERAL TWO-UNIT TRAP (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4) WAS TESTED FOR THIS SEASON AND, AS IN 2022-23, NO SET-COUNT STATEMENT WAS FOUND. (a) PER-CARD SERIAL RUN = 249, which is what base_print_run records, and every 2023-24 statement found is unambiguously per-card: checklistinsider "Known as "Scope" editions, these are all exclusive cards serial-numbered to 249 copies." (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set) - the unit words are "cards" and "copies", and a narrow re-fetch under a distinct URL was asked, as two separate yes/no questions, whether that sentence contains the word "copies" and whether it contains the word "cards", and answered YES to both; the same page prints the per-block summaries "200 cards. /249." and "50 cards. /249."; checklistcenter "Premium Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/); checklistinsider's parent page "Premium Box Set - /249" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball); tcdb Notes "SN249; Premium Box Set exclusive" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set) plus the literal per-row flag "SN249" on all 250 base rows read. (b) NUMBER OF SETS OR BOXES PRODUCED: NOT STATED BY ANY 2023-24 SOURCE FETCHED IN THIS PASS. checklistinsider was asked the question directly, in its own fetch and under a distinct URL - does any sentence on this page state a number of SETS produced or a number of BOXES produced - and answered NO SUCH STATEMENT both times. cardboardconnection has no page for this product this season (HTTP 404) and checklistcenter publishes no dedicated page. No set/box count is written in any column - there is no column for one - and none was inferred from the per-card figure. THE COINCIDENCE IS REAL FOR THIS LINE EVEN THOUGH IT IS NOT EVIDENCED FOR THIS SEASON: Panini's own blog for the 2018-19 edition of this same product wrote both units in one post, and opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-002 records Panini writing both units in ONE SENTENCE ("printed to a limited run of 249, and includes 200 base cards - all numbered to 249"). Nothing from either was used for any value here; this is recorded only so a later reader knows the two-unit hazard is a property of the line and must be re-tested each season rather than assumed present or absent. ONE OBSERVATION THAT IS ARITHMETIC AND THEREFORE NOT EVIDENCE, recorded so nobody later mistakes it for a source: the autograph set is 10 cards in three numbered versions of 15, 7 and 3, which multiplies out near the 249 figure. That is MY arithmetic on sourced numbers, it is DERIVED not SOURCED, no source performs it, and no set or box count was written anywhere on the strength of it.
  • G-003 release_date IS WRITTEN AS UNKNOWN, AND THAT IS A REGRESSION AGAINST ALL FOUR PRIOR SEASONS OF THIS LINE. Exactly one source carries a date for this product and it labels that date an ESTIMATE. checklistinsider prints "Estimated Release Date:" followed by July 15, 2024 (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set). THE LABEL WAS LOAD-BEARING, SO IT WAS RE-ASKED THREE TIMES AND THE FETCH LAYER CONTRADICTED ITSELF TWICE, which is itself worth recording: a first fetch returned the label as "Estimated Release Date:"; a second, asked under a distinct URL for the label, answered "Release Date: July 15, 2024" for the line, then answered NO to whether the word "Estimated" immediately precedes "Release Date", and then answered YES to whether "Estimated" appears anywhere and quoted "Estimated Release Date: July 15, 2024" - three mutually inconsistent answers in one response. A third fetch under another distinct URL was shaped as a character-level question - write out the 40 characters immediately preceding "July 15, 2024" - and returned "**Estimated Release Date:** " with YES to whether "Estimated" is among them. THE LABEL IS "Estimated Release Date:". An aggregator's estimate is not a statement of the release date, so under EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.1 the field is UNKNOWN rather than 2024-07-15, and the estimate is recorded here verbatim instead. COMPARE THE PRIOR SEASONS, whose agents treated this distinction as load-bearing too: opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 G-003 wrote 2023-08-11 from two sources each labelled "Release Date" and explicitly said "labelled Release Date and not Estimated Release Date"; opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 additionally had Panini's own blog. NO OTHER DATE SOURCE EXISTS THIS SEASON: cardboardconnection returns HTTP 404 for this product (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards), checklistcenter publishes no dedicated page (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/ returns HTTP 404) and carries no date for the tier on its parent page, beckett.com 302s to a maintenance page (https://www.beckett.com/news/2024-25-donruss-optic-basketball-premium-box-set/ redirects to beckett-maintenance-page.s3.amazonaws.com), tcdb carries no release date for subset sid 438843, and two targeted web searches surfaced no manufacturer or retailer page stating a date. A reviewer who wants a date written should note that 2024-07-15 would be a SINGLE-SOURCE ESTIMATE.
  • G-004 PARALLELS: THE BASE RUN HAS NONE, THE AUTOGRAPH SET HAS THREE, AND THIS BREAKS THE LINE'S FOUR-SEASON STREAK OF A HEADER-ONLY parallels.csv. (A) NO PARALLEL OF THE PREMIUM BOX SET BASE RUN WAS FOUND, and the absence is evidenced rather than unresolved, as in all four prior seasons (opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-004, -2020-21 G-004, -2021-22 G-004, -2022-23 G-004). (a) checklistcenter renders the box-set tier on the parent Optic page as ONE line, "Premium Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249", printed identically under both the Base Set and the Rated Rookies Set sections, with no colour children beneath it (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). (b) checklistinsider's parent page lists 54 base parallels by name and serial and gives the tier exactly one entry, "Premium Box Set - /249", with no "Premium <colour>" anywhere in the list (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball). (c) checklistinsider's dedicated product page has only three checklist sections - "Base Premium Box Set Checklist", "Base Rated Rookie Premium Box Set Checklist" and "Rated Rookie Signatures Premium Box Set Checklist" - and no parallel section for the base (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set). (d) ON TCDB THE ENUMERATION IS MUCH WEAKER THAN 2022-23'S AND I AM SAYING SO PLAINLY. The product's base run is subset sid 438843 "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Premium Box Set". Both boundaries of the contiguous 2023-24 Optic run containing it were PROVED by naming the neighbours: BELOW, 438842 "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Choice" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438842/x) and 438841 "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Purple Stars FOTL" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438841/x), then 438840 "2016 Leaf Perfect Game National Showcase - Autographs Silver Proof" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438840/x) and 438839 "2016 Leaf Perfect Game National Showcase - Autographs Purple Proof" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438839/x); ABOVE, 438844 "2015 Topps World of Warriors - Limited Edition" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438844/x) and 438845 "2024 Magic: The Gathering Modern Horizons 3 - Foil" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438845/x). So the Optic block here is exactly THREE sids wide, 438841-438843, fenced on both sides by two consecutive unrelated products. THAT IS A PROVED BOUNDARY BUT A TINY WINDOW, AND CRUCIALLY THE RUN IS NOT ALPHABETICAL - Purple Stars FOTL, then Choice, then Premium Box Set - so the alphabetical extrapolation that made 2022-23's twelve-sid sweep persuasive ("a Premium <colour> child would have to sit at 365692 and 365692 is Purple") IS NOT AVAILABLE THIS SEASON. tcdb's 2023-24 Optic subsets are scattered across at least the 4388xx, 4395xx, 4596xx-4597xx and 4647xx ranges, so a "Premium <colour>" sid could sit anywhere and a three-sid window cannot exclude it. THE TCDB LEG OF THIS ABSENCE IS THEREFORE THE WEAKEST OF THE FIVE SEASONS; the finding rests mainly on legs (a), (b) and (c). (B) WHAT IS WRITTEN INSTEAD OF AN EMPTY FILE: three SET-SCOPE rows, Blue /15, Gold /7 and Green /3, scoped to "Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set". They are parallels of the AUTOGRAPH set, not of the base run, so they do not weaken (A). checklistinsider prints "Versions: Blue /15; Gold /7; Green /3." under that set's heading; checklistcenter independently renders a whole section, "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set Blue Set", summarised "10 Cards - Serial Numbered #/15". Gold and Green are SINGLE-SOURCE - checklistcenter renders no Gold or Green section for this set and tcdb has no page for the set at all. See G-012 for why these are NOT the parent release's same-named tiers.
  • G-005 THE AUTOGRAPH SET OVERLAPS THE PARENT RELEASE, AND THE 2022-23 CARD-NUMBER COLLISION DOES NOT REPRODUCE. (a) NO COLLISION WITHIN THIS RELEASE. The Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set is 10 cards numbered 255, 256, 258, 265, 269, 271, 281, 287, 290 and 295. This release's base run is 1-250, so no autograph number duplicates a base number - unlike opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-007, -2020-21 G-005, -2021-22 G-005 and -2022-23 G-005, where every autograph number was also a base number. The hazard those four gaps raise is absent this season and a later pass need not re-derive that. (b) A SECOND REPACKAGING OVERLAP, AGAINST THE PARENT. All ten numbers, players and teams match data/optic-bkb-2023-24/insert_cards.csv rows of the parent's "Rated Rookies Signatures" set exactly (255 Ausar Thompson Detroit Pistons, 256 Brandin Podziemski Golden State Warriors, 258 Marcus Sasser Detroit Pistons, 265 Kobe Bufkin Atlanta Hawks, 269 Cason Wallace Oklahoma City Thunder, 271 Sasha Vezenkov Sacramento Kings, 281 Dereck Lively II Dallas Mavericks, 287 Amen Thompson Houston Rockets, 290 Keyonte George Utah Jazz, 295 Bilal Coulibaly Washington Wizards). THE OVERLAP NUMBER ON THE AUTOGRAPH SET IS 10 OF 10. So this product repackages the parent TWICE over - the whole 250-card base run (G-001) and a ten-card slice of the parent's 50-card autograph block. The card numbers sit inside the parent's 251-300 autograph block, which data/optic-bkb-2023-24 G-018 records tcdb filing inside the parent base checklist sid 415872 rather than as a subset. Sources: https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set and https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/. No card-level checklist is written here; that belongs to a later pass (CHASE_CHECKLIST_SPEC).
  • G-006 Structural divergence between our release-level model and every source, unchanged from all four prior seasons and re-tested this season. tcdb has NO parent sid for this product: it exists only as ONE subset of the 2023-24 Donruss Optic parent sid 415872, namely base sid 438843 (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set), and tcdb has no page at all for the product's autograph set (the same absence data/optic-bkb-2023-24 G-018 records for the parent's own Rated Rookies Signatures block). checklistcenter files the whole product inside the parent Optic checklist page (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/) and publishes NO dedicated page this season, unlike 2022-23. checklistinsider is the only source giving it a page of its own (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set). cardboardconnection, which gave it a dedicated page in 2022-23, returns HTTP 404 this season. Everything structural in this release therefore comes from a source that considers it part of another product, or from a single site; no independent product-level STRUCTURAL source exists.
  • G-007 NAME-COLLISION HAZARD CHECKED. In 2021-22 three box sets ran concurrently and tcdb's name for a DIFFERENT set, "Premium Stock", contained the word Premium (opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-007). FOR 2023-24 NO SUCH SIBLING WAS FOUND: checklistcenter's parent Optic page renders exactly one box-set line, "Premium Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249", with no Fanatics Box Set and no Target Box Set line (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/); checklistinsider's 54-entry base parallel list contains one Premium entry, "Premium Box Set - /249" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball); and the three-sid tcdb window enumerated in G-004 contains no "Premium Stock", no "Fanatics Box Set" and no "Target" set. Each source used in this release was nevertheless checked for which product it describes: tcdb sid 438843 by its Notes line "SN249; Premium Box Set exclusive" and the "SN249" flag on every base row; checklistinsider by its page H1 "2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set Checklist Guide"; checklistcenter by the "Premium Box Set" wording of its parallel line and its dedicated "Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set Blue Set" section. CAVEAT: the absence of a Fanatics/Target box set for 2023-24 is asserted only from those renderings plus a three-sid window; no source was fetched that states there is none.
  • G-008 ROOKIE_FLAG AND THE LITERAL FLAG TOKENS THIS SEASON'S PAGES PRINT. RECORDED AS LITERAL STRINGS, NOT GLOSSED. THE 2022-23 FINDING REPRODUCES EXACTLY. WHAT THIS RELEASE'S OWN PAGE PRINTS: on tcdb sid 438843, every row of the 201-250 block carries the literal flag string "RR, SN249" and every base row read in 1-200 carries "SN249" alone (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3 for 201-225, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3&sort=0 for 226-250, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=1 for 1-75, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=2 for 101-175, and the Gallery pages listed in G-001 for 71-100 and 171-200). A separate question on https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3&sort=0 asking for every DISTINCT flag-token string appearing anywhere in the flag column of that page returned exactly one string, "RR, SN249". So on THIS set the string "RC" appears on NO row. WHAT THE PARENT'S PAGE PRINTS FOR THE IDENTICAL CARD SLOTS: on tcdb sid 415872, the main 2023-24 Donruss Optic base run, cards 201, 205, 210, 219, 225, 235, 240, 249 and 250 each carry the literal flag string "RR, RC", and the distinct-token list for the delivered content of that page is "RR, RC" and "RR, AU, RC" (https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/415872/2023-24-Donruss-Optic?PageIndex=3; the second string belongs to the parent's own 251-300 autograph block, which is not part of this release). THE SAME PHYSICAL CHECKLIST IS THEREFORE FLAGGED "RR, RC" UNDER THE PARENT SID AND "RR, SN249" UNDER THE BOX-SET SID, for the second season running: tcdb appends the serial flag on the numbered printing and drops "RC" there. The two renderings are not in conflict about the players, only about which flags the renderer emits, and a strict-RC reading would make the answer depend on which sid a cataloguer happened to open. WHAT THE OTHER SOURCES PRINT: checklistinsider prints no per-row token, only the block heading "Base Rated Rookie Premium Box Set Checklist" over "50 cards. /249." and the sentence "...all 200 veterans and 50 Rated Rookie subjects from the base set" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set); checklistcenter's parent page separates "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Base Set" from "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Rated Rookies Set" and prints the Premium Box Set parallel line under BOTH (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). WHAT WAS WRITTEN AND WHY: rookie_flag=yes for 201-250 and no for 1-200. This matches data/optic-bkb-2023-24/base_cards.csv for the identical checklist (200 no, 50 yes) and matches opticpremium-bkb-2022-23. Under the strictest possible reading of the two literal characters R then C, this season SATISFIES EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.4 via the parent page, as 2022-23 did. The question of whether "RR" alone should count remains a line-level decision - opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-008 lists five releases needing correction on the strict reading, and this release would NOT join them. Whoever settles it should settle it for the line, not per release. FABRICATION CONTROL, AND ONE CAUGHT LIVE: "RR" is recorded here as a LITERAL TOKEN and deliberately NOT glossed - opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-015(c) records the fetch layer inventing two contradictory expansions of "RR" ("Rookie Recollection", "Rookie Reviver"); every flag question in this pass was asked as "copy the literal characters, do not expand, gloss or explain any abbreviation", and NO expansion was returned by any fetch. Nothing is written anywhere about what "RR" stands for. THE CAUGHT ERROR: the fetch of https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3 printed 25 rows all reading "RR, SN249" and then answered YES to a question asking whether the characters R then C appear as a flag token on that page - contradicting the rows it had just printed in the same response. The re-ask under a distinct URL, shaped as "list every DISTINCT flag-token string", returned "RR, SN249" alone. The YES was discarded and supports nothing.
  • G-009 base_set_size is written as 250 while the most quotable headline figure on the only dedicated page is 251: checklistinsider "251-card factory set" under the heading "2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set Product Configuration" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set). 250 was written because that same source decomposes its own 251 into 250 + 1 - the Box Break section reads "Full Base Set (/249)" and "1 Autograph (/15 or less)", and the two base checklist blocks are summarised "200 cards. /249." and "50 cards. /249." which sum to 250 - because tcdb's subset header reads "Total Cards: 250" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set), and because EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.3 requires the autograph block to be excluded. Flagged because any later source quoting "251 cards" will look like a coverage hole against this file and is not one. Same call as all four prior seasons (opticpremium-bkb-2019-20 G-011, -2020-21 G-009, -2021-22 G-009 where the arithmetic ran 201 = 200 + 1, and -2022-23 G-009 where it ran 251 = 250 + 1). NOTE the base run stayed at 250 from 2022-23, tracking the parent Optic base run, which data/optic-bkb-2023-24/release.csv also carries as 250.
  • G-010 THE NAMING QUESTION - WHAT THIS SEASON'S SOURCES ACTUALLY PRINT, AND MY VERDICT. RAISED, NOT DECIDED, per EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.1: a brand-identity change is a catalogue-level decision and reference/brands.csv was NOT touched. product_name was written as "Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Basketball" to match reference/brands.csv byte for byte (note brands.csv carries no "Panini" prefix for this line, unlike the sibling "Panini Donruss Optic Basketball"). THE SCOPE MEMO'S EXPECTATION: specs/2018-19_SCOPE_MEMO.md states "Donruss Optic Premium Box Set -> 'Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set' from 2023-24" and "Searching only for 'Premium Box Set' misses 2023-24 and 2024-25". MY VERDICT FOR THIS SEASON, STATED PLAINLY AS ASKED: THE 2023-24 EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A GENUINE PRODUCT RENAME. It supports SITE-LEVEL, and even PAGE-LEVEL, VARIATION. Four findings drive that. (1) TCDB HAS MOVED THE OTHER WAY. For 2021-22 and 2022-23 tcdb named the base set "<season> Donruss Optic - Premium", dropping "Box Set" entirely (opticpremium-bkb-2021-22 G-010, -2022-23 G-010). For 2023-24 the live page reads "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Premium Box Set", with HTML title "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Premium Box Set Basketball Checklist | Trading Card Database" (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set); confirmed by a second fetch under a DIFFERENT slug (https://www.tcdb.com/ViewSet.cfm/sid/438843/x) which answered YES to whether the two words "Box" and "Set" appear in that order inside the name heading itself. tcdb has RESTORED "Box Set" in the very season the memo expects it to disappear. Recorded as a near-miss so it is not later mistaken for a contradiction: a search-engine result still indexes sid 438843 under the OLD title "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Premium Basketball Checklist | Trading Card Database" with canonical slug 2023-24-Donruss-Optic---Premium; that is a stale index entry, not the live page, and it was used for no value. (2) THE SITE THAT SAYS "FACTORY SET" SAYS "PREMIUM BOX SET" EVERYWHERE ELSE ON THE SAME PAGES. checklistinsider titles the dedicated page "2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set Checklist" with H1 "...Factory Set Checklist Guide", and its Details, Product Configuration and Box Break headings repeat "Factory Set" - but every CHECKLIST section heading on that same page reads "Base Premium Box Set Checklist", "Base Rated Rookie Premium Box Set Checklist" and "Rated Rookie Signatures Premium Box Set Checklist" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set). On its PARENT Optic page the same site lists the tier as "Premium Box Set - /249" among 54 base parallels, prints "Premium Box Set exclusive." under the autograph set, and refers to "the 2023-24 Donruss Optic Premium Basketball Factory Set version" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball). One site, both names, same season. (3) THE SAME SITE FLIPS BACK IN AN ADJACENT PRODUCT YEAR. Recorded as SEARCH-RESULT PAGE TITLES ONLY, not fetched, and used for no value: checklistinsider titles the football line "2023 Donruss Optic Premium Football Factory Set" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-donruss-optic-premium-football-factory-set) and then "2024 Donruss Optic Premium Box Set Football" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2024-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-football) - "Factory Set" one year, "Box Set" the next, on one site, one line. That is the signature of editorial variation, not of a manufacturer rename. (4) NO 2023-24 SOURCE OTHER THAN CHECKLISTINSIDER USES "FACTORY SET" IN THE PRODUCT'S NAME AT ALL. checklistcenter prints "Premium Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249" and the section heading "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set Blue Set", and was asked directly for any line containing "Factory Set": the answer was that no such line appears (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). tcdb prints "Premium Box Set" in the set name and again in the Notes line "SN249; Premium Box Set exclusive". cardboardconnection has no 2023-24 page at all. ALSO RECORDED, NOT FETCHED AND USED FOR NO VALUE: an eBay catalogue title indexes the cards as "2023-24 Panini Donruss Optic - Rated Rookie Victor Wembanyama #225 Premium Box Set Prizm /249 (RC)" (https://www.ebay.com/p/24068486487) - the same "Premium Box Set Prizm" form opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 G-010 recorded from COMC, a variant that adds "Prizm"; and for the NEXT season beckett titles a page "2024-25 Donruss Optic Basketball Premium Box Set Checklist and Details" (https://www.beckett.com/news/2024-25-donruss-optic-basketball-premium-box-set/, which 302s to a maintenance page and could not be read) while cardboardconnection titles its 2024-25 page "2024-25 Panini Donruss Optic NBA Trading Card Box Set Review and Checklist" (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2024-25-panini-donruss-optic-nba-trading-card-box-set-review-and-checklist) - a SIXTH word order, dropping "Premium" and inserting "NBA Trading Card". SO THE 2023-24 CONCURRENT VARIANTS ARE AT LEAST: "Premium Box Set" (tcdb set name and Notes, checklistcenter, checklistinsider's own section headings and parallel lists), "Factory Set" (checklistinsider page title and its Details/Configuration/Box Break headings only), and - on unfetched indexed titles - "Premium Box Set Prizm" (eBay catalogue). THE DIVERGENCE IS ESCALATED HERE AND IN THE REPORT RATHER THAN RESOLVED. If a catalogue-level decision is ever taken to rename, note that it would have to explain why tcdb moved back to "Box Set" in this exact season and why the only site using "Factory Set" simultaneously uses "Premium Box Set" in its own checklist headings; and the scope memo's practical warning still stands regardless - a search for "Premium Box Set" alone WOULD have missed checklistinsider's page, which is how this release was found.
  • G-011 SOURCES THAT COULD NOT BE FETCHED OR DO NOT EXIST THIS SEASON, recorded so their absence is visible rather than silently reducing the evidence base. (a) CARDBOARDCONNECTION HAS NO PAGE FOR THIS PRODUCT. https://www.cardboardconnection.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards returns HTTP 404, and the site's own 2023-2024 basketball index (https://www.cardboardconnection.com/sports-cards-sets/nba-basketball-cards/2023-2024-basketball-cards) lists only two entries containing "Optic", both Panini Contenders Optic, and no Premium/Factory Set entry. This is a REGRESSION: opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 took base_set_size, release_date and the per-card print-run wording from a dedicated cardboardconnection page. (b) CHECKLISTCENTER PUBLISHES NO DEDICATED PAGE THIS SEASON. The 2022-23 URL pattern (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-card-checklist/) returns HTTP 404; the product appears on checklistcenter only as lines inside the parent Optic page. This is also a regression - 2022-23 had a dedicated checklistcenter page that carried all 250 base rows. (c) BECKETT IS UNREACHABLE, exactly as EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4 records: https://www.beckett.com/news/2024-25-donruss-optic-basketball-premium-box-set/ returns HTTP 302 to https://beckett-maintenance-page.s3.amazonaws.com/index.html. No beckett page for a 2023-24 edition of this product was surfaced by search at all; the only beckett box-set page found is for 2024-25. (d) NO MANUFACTURER SOURCE. No Panini blog post and no paniniamerica.net product page for the 2023-24 Premium Box Set was surfaced by two targeted searches; none was fetched and nothing rests on one. CONSEQUENCE: base_print_run, base_set_size and the product name all rest on checklistinsider for the WORDS and on tcdb for the structural figures, with checklistcenter corroborating the tier line and the autograph Blue version only. That is a materially thinner evidence base than 2022-23 had.
  • G-012 CONTRADICTIONS AGAINST EXISTING DATA, two of them, both involving data/optic-bkb-2023-24. (a) THE PREMIUM BOX SET AS A PARENT-RELEASE PARALLEL ROW - THE FOUR-SEASON CONVENTION SPLIT HAS FLIPPED AGAIN. data/optic-bkb-2019-20/parallels.csv carries a row for the Premium Box Set as a base parallel of the parent product; data/optic-bkb-2020-21, -2021-22 and -2022-23 deliberately carry NONE (recorded at opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-012, -2021-22 G-012, -2022-23 G-012). data/optic-bkb-2023-24/parallels.csv CARRIES ONE AGAIN: par_01M19N6TJTD0FSTC0BFCG9GGKK, parallel_name "Premium Box Set", print_run 249, scope_type base-set, channel UNKNOWN, source_confidence single, visual_notes "single-source (checklistinsider only); may belong to a separate box-set SKU", and its own G-009 says the same. So across five seasons the identical real-world object is a parent parallel row in 2019-20, a stated omission in 2020-21 through 2022-23, and a parent parallel row again in 2023-24 - while simultaneously being this release's entire base set. Both aggregators catalogue it as a base parallel of the parent in this season (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/ "Premium Box Set Parallels: Premium Box Set #/249"; https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball "Premium Box Set - /249"), as does tcdb by filing sid 438843 under parent sid 415872. Nothing outside this release directory was touched. Recorded for a repair pass to settle ONE convention across the five seasons; whichever way it goes it interacts with G-001, since the object is simultaneously this release's whole base set. (b) THE AUTOGRAPH SET'S COLOUR TIERS COLLIDE BY NAME WITH THE PARENT'S AND HAVE DIFFERENT RUNS, AND THIS RELEASE HOLDS FIGURES THE PARENT RECORDS AS UNKNOWN. data/optic-bkb-2023-24/parallels.csv carries Blue, Gold and Green as set-scope tiers of the PARENT's "Rated Rookies Signatures", all three with print_run UNKNOWN and a [PROMOTED 2026-08-24] note saying only that the tier EXISTS. checklistcenter gives those parent tiers explicit runs - its Rated Rookies Signatures parallel list reads "... Pink Velocity #/79; Blue #/49; Black Pandora #/25; Pink #/25 ...; Gold #/10; Green #/5; ..." (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/) - i.e. Blue /49, Gold /10, Green /5. THIS RELEASE'S Blue, Gold and Green are /15, /7 and /3. Same three colour names, different print runs, different objects: the box-set autograph has its own ladder. This is the same-name-across-scopes hazard CLAUDE.md describes, except the two scopes live in DIFFERENT RELEASES, where scope_ambiguous and scope_ambiguous_scopes cannot reach; the collision is therefore carried in each row's visual_notes and here. TWO ACTIONABLE ITEMS FOR A LATER PASS: the parent's three UNKNOWN runs appear to be sourceable from checklistcenter as /49, /10 and /5, and a consumer joining on parallel_name without release and scope will merge two different ladders.
  • G-013 license_status was NOT specified in the task prompt, which EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.1 says is where it comes from. "licensed (NBA/NBPA)" was written to match all four prior seasons of this line (data/opticpremium-bkb-2019-20, -2020-21, -2021-22, -2022-23). That DISAGREES with the same-season sibling data/optic-bkb-2023-24, which carries "licensed (NBA)" for what is physically the same base checklist - the identical disagreement recorded at opticpremium-bkb-2020-21 G-013, -2021-22 G-013 and -2022-23 G-013, now confirmed to repeat for a fourth season. Both are live values per the spec; no source was fetched that states either wording, so this is a catalogue-convention choice, not an evidenced one, and it is flagged rather than silently picked. licensed=yes and league=NBA were given in the task prompt and are unaffected.
  • G-014 SINGLE-SOURCE, POSSIBLY-DEPENDENT AND UNRESOLVED ITEMS, listed so they are not mistaken for settled values. (a) CARD-LEVEL SOURCING IS WEAKER THAN 2022-23. All 250 base rows rest on tcdb sid 438843 ALONE as a source for THIS product. In 2022-23 two card-level sources existed for the Premium printing (checklistcenter's dedicated page plus tcdb); this season checklistcenter publishes no dedicated page and cardboardconnection 404s, so no second card-level rendering of the Premium printing was available. All 250 rows do match data/optic-bkb-2023-24/base_cards.csv exactly, but that is this project's own separately-built parent release, not an independent third-party source, and its own G-003 records that ITS card-level roster is single-source (checklistcenter) too. So the player and team strings on this checklist trace back to at most two independent renderings in total across both releases. (b) base_print_run=249 / basis=sourced rests on ONE site's per-card sentence (checklistinsider), corroborated by per-card NOTATION rather than sentences elsewhere (checklistcenter "#/249", checklistinsider parent "- /249", tcdb "SN249"). EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.1 says the tcdb flag alone would support only 'assumed'. This is weaker than 2021-22, where Panini itself stated the per-card run. (c) The autograph set's Gold /7 and Green /3 are SINGLE-SOURCE (checklistinsider only); its Blue /15 has two renderings (checklistinsider and checklistcenter). (d) scarcity_tier for the autograph set is UNKNOWN - no source states a tier - and its stated_odds "1 Autograph (/15 or less)" is the Box Break line, which is a per-box guarantee rather than pack odds. NOTE "/15 or less" IS A CEILING AND IS NOT WRITTEN AS A PRINT RUN ANYWHERE (CLAUDE.md; EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.3): the set's card_count is 10 and the three version runs are written as 15, 7 and 3 from the explicit per-version statement, never from the ceiling. (e) The base cards' FINISH was not resolved and is written nowhere: checklistinsider calls the printing "Known as "Scope" editions", which is a finish name this catalogue does not carry as a field; no finish name was written. (f) checklistcenter and the cardboardconnection family of sites are known to copy one another (EXTRACTION_SPEC 5.4). checklistinsider's dedicated page reproduces cardboardconnection's exact page template - H1 "... Checklist Guide", then Details, Product Configuration, Box Break, "Buy ... Boxes", Checklist - which is the same template the 2022-23 cardboardconnection page used, so WHERE CHECKLISTINSIDER AND CHECKLISTCENTER ARE BOTH CITED THEY MAY BE ONE OPINION. A direct test was attempted and was inconclusive: https://www.checklistinsider.com/2022-23-donruss-optic-premium-box-set-basketball-cards - the 2022-23 cardboardconnection slug under the checklistinsider host - returns HTTP 404, so no common-origin claim is made here. The genuinely independent corroboration on this release is tcdb: its "Total Cards: 250" header, its Notes line and its literal per-row "SN249" flags. (g) No marketplace listing was used as evidence for any value in this release.
  • G-015 THE AUTOGRAPH SET'S NAME DISAGREES BETWEEN THE TWO SOURCES BY ONE LETTER, AND TCDB OFFERS NO TIE-BREAK. checklistcenter renders the section heading "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set Blue Set" (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/) - plural "Rookies", with " Set" being checklistcenter's own suffix on every heading and "Blue" being the colour version. checklistinsider renders "Rated Rookie Signatures Premium Box Set Checklist" (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set) and, on the parent page, "Rated Rookie Signatures Premium Box Set Checklist" again (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball) - singular "Rookie". tcdb has no page for this set at all, so it cannot break the tie, unlike 2022-23 where tcdb sid 365894 supplied the name directly. WHAT WAS WRITTEN: the PLURAL form "Rated Rookies Signatures Premium Box Set", because it matches checklistcenter verbatim modulo that site's suffix, matches the name opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 carries for the same set of the same line (taken there from tcdb), and matches the parent release's own set name "Rated Rookies Signatures" in data/optic-bkb-2023-24/sets.csv. A resolver matching checklistinsider's singular form will therefore miss this row by one letter; that is the cost of the choice and it is recorded rather than hidden. Note also that whether the "Premium Box Set" suffix is printed on the card or is a cataloguer's qualifier separating it from the parent product's 50-card Rated Rookies Signatures was NOT established this season either, exactly as opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 G-014(d) records.
  • G-016 card_tier IS LEFT EMPTY ON ALL 250 ROWS EVEN THOUGH ONE SOURCE RENDERS THE BASE RUN AS TWO NAMED BLOCKS, and the divergence is recorded rather than resolved. checklistinsider splits the run into "Base Premium Box Set Checklist" ("200 cards. /249.") and "Base Rated Rookie Premium Box Set Checklist" ("50 cards. /249.") (https://www.checklistinsider.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-premium-basketball-factory-set), and checklistcenter splits the PARENT into "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Base Set" and "2023-24 Donruss Optic - Rated Rookies Set", printing the Premium Box Set parallel line under BOTH (https://www.checklistcenter.com/2023-24-donruss-optic-basketball-card-checklist/). tcdb, by contrast, renders one set of 250 with a flag difference only ("RR, SN249" on 201-250 against "SN249" on 1-200, https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=3 and https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=1). Under EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.4 that is arguably a tiered base run and card_tier could carry "Rated Rookies" on 201-250. It was left empty because BOTH comparison releases leave it empty - data/opticpremium-bkb-2022-23/base_cards.csv on the same line and the same block, and data/optic-bkb-2023-24/base_cards.csv on the physically identical checklist - and changing the convention in one release would make two files describing the same 250 cards disagree on their tiering. Flagged per EXTRACTION_SPEC 6 so a repair pass can set the convention for the line rather than having it decided per release. base_print_run is NOT varies-by-tier: both blocks are /249, so no base_card_tiers.csv is required or written.
  • G-017 METHOD AND SPEC NOTES recorded for reproducibility; five are live hazards and two update what the spec and the task prompt say about this line. (a) TCDB'S Inserts.cfm IS TRUNCATED ON THIS PARENT FOR THE FOURTH SEASON RUNNING. https://www.tcdb.com/Inserts.cfm/sid/415872/2023-24-Donruss-Optic delivers the "Insert Sets (188)" list and stops mid-entry at "White Hot Rookies Orange" (sid 439588), never reaching the "Parallel Sets" heading that follows it - the delivered content contains the anchor link text for Parallel Sets but no such section heading and no entries under it. No entry containing the word "Premium" appears anywhere in the delivered content. Confirmed against data/optic-bkb-2023-24 G-024(1), which recorded the same truncation point on the same parent in an earlier pass. So "Inserts.cfm is your sets.csv backbone" does not hold for BASE PARALLELS on a parent this size, for a fourth consecutive season. (b) A TCDB SID RANGE IS NOT CONTIGUOUS PER PRODUCT, AND THIS SEASON THE BLOCK IS ONLY THREE SIDS WIDE WITH UNRELATED PRODUCTS IMMEDIATELY ON BOTH SIDES: 438839 and 438840 are 2016 Leaf Perfect Game National Showcase autograph proofs, 438841-438843 are the 2023-24 Optic subsets Purple Stars FOTL / Choice / Premium Box Set, and 438844 and 438845 are "2015 Topps World of Warriors - Limited Edition" and "2024 Magic: The Gathering Modern Horizons 3 - Foil". Each intruder rendered as a confident well-formed set page - the exact 2022-23 finding (a Topps MetaZoo set, a tennis Topps Chrome and a Magic: The Gathering set inside one apparent block) reproduced with different intruders. (c) AND THE ORDERING IS NOT ALPHABETICAL THIS SEASON. Purple Stars FOTL, then Choice, then Premium Box Set. The alphabetical extrapolation that carried 2022-23's enumeration is unavailable, which is why G-004 states the tcdb leg of the no-base-parallels finding is the weakest of the five seasons. No non-existent sid was encountered in this pass, so the home-page-render signal documented at opticpremium-bkb-2022-23 G-015(c) was not exercised here. (d) THE FETCH LAYER CONTRADICTED ITSELF INSIDE A SINGLE RESPONSE THREE TIMES IN THIS PASS, and each was caught by re-asking under a distinct URL in a different shape: the "RC" flag question on the box-set page (G-008), the "Estimated Release Date" label (G-003), and a first fetch of the set name that agreed with a stale search-engine title rather than the live page (G-010). In every case the re-ask was shaped as an enumeration or a character-level question rather than a request to reproduce text, and every re-ask answered. NO FETCH IN THIS PASS WAS REFUSED. (e) THE Checklist.cfm TRUNCATION BUDGET IS CONFIRMED AGAIN AND MEASURED PRECISELY. A bounded enumerated ask for cards 46-80 on https://www.tcdb.com/Checklist.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=1 returned complete rows through card 75, a NAME ONLY and no team for card 76, and NOT DELIVERED for 77-80 - the documented ~row-74-86 truncation of a 100-row page, caught mid-row. The partial card 76 was DISCARDED and re-read from https://www.tcdb.com/Gallery.cfm/sid/438843/2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set?PageIndex=8. Every ask in this pass ENUMERATED THE CARD NUMBERS WANTED (25-45 of them); none asked for a row range or a whole page; none was refused. Real measured cost for this 250-card run: 6 Checklist.cfm asks plus 6 Gallery.cfm top-ups = 12 fetches for all 250 rows, which is better than the 25 Gallery-only fetches the naive budget implies. (f) TCDB'S CANONICAL SLUG FOR THIS SET CHANGED WITH THE SET NAME. Checklist.cfm and Gallery.cfm both validate their slug, and both accepted 2023-24-Donruss-Optic-Premium-Box-Set; the slug indexed by search engines is the older 2023-24-Donruss-Optic---Premium. Anyone composing the slug from a cached title will 404 on the two validating endpoints. (g) ONE SPEC-LEVEL NOTE: reference/channel_taxonomy.csv gives factory-set the AXIS "box-sku", while EXTRACTION_SPEC 2.3 and pipeline/fix_schema.py's CHANNEL_CLASS map give it the CLASS "promotion". These are different columns and are not in conflict, but the two words sit one lookup apart and an agent checking the taxonomy file instead of the map would write the wrong channel_class. channel_class=promotion was written here, per the map, as EXTRACTION_SPEC 6 requires.

If you know a source that answers one of these, tell us — name the question's label and where to look.

Draft — sourced but not independently verified. How this catalogue is built